iPod Touch: first impressions

by benl

Well I’ve had a couple of hours with the Touch so far and it seems as though I’ve got one of the notorious < week 38 manufactured units that doesn’t quite display blacks as intended.

Despite the screen issue (which shouldn’t be too much of a problem, I’ll get a replacement as most people with week 37 units seem to be) I must say i’m hugely impressed with the device. Navigation through the music library couldn’t be easier and coverflow works great when using horizontal orientation. I’ve had a couple of crashes here and there when browsing the web using Safari, one on facebook and one on gmail. Youtube is pretty cool on the touch.

The only disappointment is iTunes on the device. It doesn’t let you download podcasts which would be a pretty handy feature IMO. I’m sure this will be solved with a software update in due course however.

